79 People Murdered – GOD TO BLAME!

I am tired of personal messages. Now don’t get me wrong, GOD is capable of communicating in any way he wants. However the question is, does he use personal messages as a general rule?

It is not uncommon to to hear GOD fearing Christians who make comments like, God told me…. In fact, I have even had someone tell me that GOD told them to tell me to go to Bible College. My response to the person was, {SMILE} “Why did GOD tell you and not me?

The thing that drives me crazy about personal messages from the LORD is how flip-id we are to throw them around, and how easily others accept them. No test seems to be necessary as to the validly of the message.

David Koresh

In 1993, David Koresh, had several personal messages from GOD that lead to the destruction of good people with bad theology. His first “Word from the Lord” was to the widow of the deceased Branch Dividian leader. The message he delivered to her was that he was supposed to marry her, bare a special child with her {parallel to Christ} and take over the cult. With no regard to the validity of the message she accepted his strange proposal and he became the unopposed leader of the Branch Dividians. Unopposed, his next “Word from the Lord” stated that he was to have sex with the children in the compound. Believe it or not, the members and parents of the children did not oppose him as he had sex with their small children. They were fearful of rising up against a prophet of GOD. So they allowed David Koresh, apparently in the name of GOD, to have daily sex with their little babies! Next, GOD told him to stockpile illegal weapons and start the apocalypse. All of these apparent words clearly oppose scripture and common sense. These “Words from GOD” eventually lead to the deaths of 79 people including 21 children. I wonder if GOD told Koresh and his followers to shoot the children in the heads with the illegal firearms, or was this morbid decision his alone? We will never know. But we do know is that the children are dead and either God murdered them or Koresh was delusional. What do you think?

Clearly, Koresh was delusional, but like Koresh, we do the same thing everyday in the church and though it may not be as extreme as the Branch Dividians, we use these personal messages as an indicator of how to run our Christian lives and worse yet how others should run theirs. Is this what the bible teaches?

God has given us special revelation to help us understand his moral and sovereign will — it’s called the Bible! Though we do see personal messages delivered on occasion in the bible, it is not the general way that GOD communicates. When we do see personal messages, it is usually to prophets. So should we hold the new prophets to the same standard as the old ones? Should we pickup stones and stone them to death if the “Word from the LORD” doesn’t come true? After all, if we did this, I would guess people would be a little less flip-it with their comments. Greg Koukl from Stands to Reason made an interesting comment on this topic on his radio show one day (www.str.org). He said, “We get angry at people for saying “OH MY GOD” when we are doing something much worse be leading people astray for personal messages from GOD” [Paraphrase]. WOW! Powerful and convicting!

If someone has a “Word from the Lord” you need to analyze the “word” by two important criteria:

1. Does the “word” line up with scripture? – Most of the “words” I have heard simply don’t pass this test. Most are non-biblical and SHOULD BE IGNORED. Had the Branch Dividians done this, they’d all still be alive!

2. What am I supposed to get from the message? – I heard one person make a comment that GOD told him that drinking alcohol was wrong. My thought was — Okay, the bible talks about following your conscience, so he is perfectly within his rights to not drink. However, what am I supposed to get from this message. I don’t feel my conscience telling me to stop drinking. I simply ignored it as unimportant to me. When the nicewell meaning gentlemen told me to go to bible college, I simply smiled and ignored that message too. If GOD wanted me to go to bible college, I figure he’d have told me and not just him.

Personal Messages from the LORD simply don’t hold as much weight as special revelation. In fact, for the most part, they are damaging. What do you think happens to people who are expecting GOD to act, and he doesn’t? The person feels let down by GOD. What about the new believer who hears apparently mature Christians talking about prophetic messages from GOD and they don’t hearing anything. These SAVED people start to question their salvation and YOU are to blame? Why do you think GOD has such a high standard for prophets in the Bible? It’s because a false prophet can be very, very damaging!

So here’s my request. Stop being stupid. Graciously listen to what people have to say, test it and if it sound wrong, IGNORE IT! If you are the one delivering such message, please stop, or be very, very certain that GOD is telling you. If you have any doubt, KEEP IT TO YOURSELF!

LET ME SAY THIS AGAIN. I AM NOT LIMITING GOD. HE CAN COMMUNICATE ANY WAY HE WANTS TO. I AM LIMITING YOU. STOP MAKING CLAIMS AS A PROPHET UNLESS YOU ARE WILLING TO SUFFER THE CONSEQUENCES THAT WERE CLEARLY SPELLED OUT IN THE BIBLE FOR FALSE PROPHETS. GOD DOES NOT TRY, IF GOD DELIVERS A MESSAGE, THERE WILL BE NO DOUBT THAT IT IS FROM HIM.

VIDEO VERSION ON YOUTUBE.COM

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. šŸ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

